top of page

The Salisbury Poisonings (2020) Dir: Saul Dibb

Instagram post:



This three part limited series kind of passed me by when it originally aired in 2020, but when I saw it streaming, my interest grew. I vaguely recall the true events that this series is based upon, though I can't say I remember more than the bare bones of it. As such, I was able to watch this Saul Dibb directed series without already knowing most of the more intricate plot points.


It was, perhaps, a little too slow at times, which was relatively understandable, considering the narrative, but still a little draining from a viewer's perspective. It lost momentum in the second episode in particular, but gained a little back at the start of the third.


The narrative was intriguing, but I think it was perhaps a little overwritten. I couldn't help but feel that it could've been either two parts, or three shorter episodes. That said, I did enjoy watching the series, and found it pretty enlightening, in regards to the events that took place in Salisbury in 2018.


The acting was, across the board, solid, but not exceptional. I'd say the duo of Anne-Marie Duff and Rafe Spall gave the best performances, particularly Spall, whose depiction of panic, fear and paranoia was very well done.


In regards to the rest of the cast, the standouts were MyAnna Buring, Annabel Scholey, Judah Cousin, Nigel Lindsay, Stella Gonet and Kimberley Nixon. I think that Buring had some of the better acted scenes amongst the supporting cast, particularly in the second episode.


Overall, this was an interesting, if a little slow, limited series. It had its moments, but definitely struggled to keep its momentum, and was, to my mind, a little too long. I am glad I watched it, and would recommend it to any fans of British television dramas, but I don't think I'll feel the urge to revisit it.



Comments


bottom of page