top of page

The Mummy (1999) Dir: Stephen Sommers

Instagram post:



I had seen the sequel to this film nearly 10 years ago, and I remember enjoying it, but not much else. Now, all this time later, I finally managed to watch the original.


It's a silly yet fun adventure film that gives distinct Indiana Jones vibes, except the attractive adventurer is 90s Brendan Fraser, as opposed to Harrison Ford.



The action is very 90s, but I found that to be endearing more than anything else. The CGI is a bit dated, considering it is over two decades old now, but the film makes up for it with some great physical effects.


The narrative is pretty standard of action adventures in which a would-be treasure hunter opens an inevitably cursed tomb, at the behest of an inevitably correct local who knows the curse. That said, it is so much fun to watch. Yes it is cheesy, but I loved it.



The aforementioned Brendan Fraser stars, and is at his entertaining best, using a blend of over the top action sequences and silly wit to produce an endearing protagonist.


Rachel Weisz also stars, matching and even exceeding the goofyness of Fraser at points - that is not a criticism. I enjoyed her performance.



In the key supporting role is Arnold Voslo, who I'll admit is less enjoyable, but his character definitely has his moments.


Kevin J. O. Connor is another who had some good moments, but ultimately he was more of an annoyance for me.



Oded Fehr came into the plot strong in the second half, becoming one of the coolest characters of the film with some badass moments.


Finally, I'll mention a couple of other supporting actors who were worthy of note; those being the recognisable and funny Omid Djalili and one of the best low screentime characters I've seen in any film from Bernard Fox.



Overall, despite a couple of minor shortcomings here and there, this is still a highly enjoyable adventure and I think director Stephen Sommers did a very decent job of prioritising the entertainment factor here.


It may be goofy and extremely over-the-top, but its still so much fun, even all these years after its release.



Comments


bottom of page