top of page

The Lovely Bones (2009) Dir: Peter Jackson

Instagram post:


This film, based on the book of the same name, is one I had heard a little about, though I was not aware that it was directed by Peter Jackson; the man who was at the helm of the acclaimed Lord Of The Rings trilogy.


Now, I must admit that I am yet to read the book, but as far as the film's narrative goes, I thought it held up pretty well for the most part.


My only real hold up was the ending. I am assuming it is similar or the same to the original story, which is not a bad thing, but it left me feeling quite unsatisfied if I'm being honest.


Visually, the film had a light filter which gave each scene an almost dreamlike feel which I enjoyed.


A young Saoirse Ronan stars here and, for the most part, gives a solid and enjoyable performance.


My personal favourite performance had to be from Stanley Tucci though, who encapsulated his character's creepy and unnerving persona brilliantly.


Mark Wahlberg felt initially luke a strange casting choice here, though I actually quite liked his performance in the end.


Rachel Weisz is another solid performer here in a supporting role, though she is handily outshone by Susan Sarandon, whose character was really fun.


Finally, I will mention Rose McIver, who's performance improved scene by scene seemingly.


In terms of my overall thoughts, this film ended up being rather middling for me. It isn't bad by any means, but it did not leave much of an impact on me either.


I had an okay time watching this, but I would not be upset if I never saw it again.

コメント


bottom of page