top of page

The Game (1997) Dir: David Fincher

Instagram post:



I have always been a fan of David Fincher's films, but, until now, I had not seen this 1997 mystery thriller. As such, I wasn't entirely sure what to expect, although I had seen plenty of positive reviews for it online. It turns out that not knowing what to expect was the whole aim of the film.


I enjoyed the film's camerawork and soundtrack, which were both typical of Fincher stylistically. They allowed the feel of the film to evolve and dilute as the story became increasingly mysterious and sinister. I was particularly keen on the use of 'White Rabbit' by 'Jefferson Airplane'.


I was a little divided when it came to the narrative. There was plenty of mystery, sure, but the film was so slow that it seemed to take an age for the plot to actually develop. Once it did, I liked it, for the most part, but the pacing really did inhibit my enjoyment.


In some ways, the twists - for there were many - were effective, as far as creating an uncertain audience is concerned. However, I couldn't help but find them increasingly predictable, as the film progressed. By the end of it, I was able to call each twist as it happened, which was a little disappointing.


Michael Douglas showed the unravelling psyche of his character brilliantly, which helped to convey both the mystery and the stakes of the story brilliantly. His character wasn't wholly likable, but Douglas' acting was. I very much enjoyed the way he portrayed a man at the end of his wits.


Sean Penn didn't have anywhere near as much screentime as I'd hoped, but, for what it's worth, his acting was pretty exemplary. His record off-screen may sometimes be spotty, but his acting is almost always value for money.


I thought that Deborah Kara Unger gave a good performance, which warranted more screentime than she ultimately had. I thought she had a couple of particularly strong scenes in the final third of the film, where things really picked up across the board.


The trio of James Rebhorn, Peter Donat and Carroll Baker also deserve some very quick mentions for their small but enjoyable performances.


Overall, this was a very solid mystery thriller, but it was dogged by some frustrating pacing issues, which ultimately held it back, in my eyes. I will say, my prevailing emotions towards the film were positive after it ended, so that has to count for something. I think I'll enjoy this one more in retrospect.



Comments


bottom of page