top of page

The Foreigner (2017) Dir: Martin Campbell

Instagram post:


I had heard a couple of pretty hardcore film fanatics say very good things about this Netflix original. It had been on my watch list for a little while, and to be honest, the sub 2 hour run time is what sold it. But boy am I glad I watched it.


A gritty and intricately winding narrative is bolstered by intense action, suspense and some very good acting performances.


Jackie Chan's portrayal of grief is absolutely immaculate. He's always a good watch and this film really brings out the best in his acting, one of my favourite performances I've seen from him. He definitely proves that he isn't just a comedy actor these days.


Pierce Brosnan shows he can still put in a solid performance when given the right character to work with. Orla Brady, Rory Fleck Byrne and Rey Fearon all give good accounts of themselves in supporting roles.


The way this film manages to balance the two main arcs of its story is very satisfying. It would have been very easy to get that wrong. I found myself highly invested in this film pretty much from the start.


The only real downpoint for this one is the opening scene, which is a little clunky with the dialogue. Aside from that, the narrative sweeps you along quite nicely.


A quietly very good action thriller that seems to have gone under the radar for the most part - definitely worth the watch for me.

Comments


bottom of page