top of page

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (2011) Dir: John Madden

Instagram post:


If you're after a wholesome and entertaining comedy drama, then this might be your film. It's a well written piece with a star-studded cast that manages to tell a number of heartwarming stories without feeling convoluted or clustered.


The setting, being India, is gorgeous, and is a unique and perfect setting for the characters to find themselves in. The characters drive what is a well constructed narrative forward with a subtlety that deserves much respect.


Judie Dench is an absolute gem here, as she tends to be, as she gives a very elegant performance, as well as lending her voice to the narration heard throughout parts of the film.


Maggie Smith manages to show her character's much needed development masterfully, I always enjoy her acting, and this is no exception.


One of my favourite performances is from Bill Nighy, who somehow manages to evoke a lot of emotion without needing to be the loudest presence on-screen. His arc is one of the better ones of the film too.


My favourite performance however, comes from the immensely talented Dev Patel - who gives a passionate and highly likeable performance here which can't fail to make you smile.


I also really enjoyed Tina Desai here, she has such a wholesome energy that is palpable in all of her scenes, I found myself wishing she had a little more screen time.


Penelope Wilton manages to play her role very well, exuding the exact response she needs from the audience.


Finally, I'll also mention Celia Imrie and Donald Pickup, who both give noteworthy performances in slightly smaller roles.


Overall, I have to say this is another example of a film I did not expect to love as much as I did. It is not necessarily a film I would normally choose to watch, but I am very glad I did.

Comments


bottom of page