top of page

Star Wars: Visions [Season 1] (2021) Dir: [Various]

Instagram post:


I didn't really know much about what this series was before I watched it, but very quickly discovered it to be a rather unique and fun anthology of short films from 7 Japanese animation studios, each bringing their own unique style and perspective to the project.


As illuded to, each episode has its own interesting animation, using both traditional anime and more modern art styles. The films all vary and tell their own unconnected stories. They are not official canon as ot stands, but if anything I think that just means the creators could essentially do whatever they liked creatively.


Some of the episodes are naturally better than others, the first was one of my favourites, especially visually. Episode 5 also deserves a mention for its animation style. Whilst this is not my favourite Star Wars series, it still has a lot to enjoy.


The anthology's unique approach to the Star Wars universe means there is plenty to enjoy, and with a second season coming soon, you can expect more intriguing and unique stories to follow - and I for one look forward to it.

Comments


bottom of page