top of page

Sleepy Hollow (1999) Dir: Tim Burton

Instagram post:

When I heard there was a spooky murder mystery directed by Tim Burton, I didn't need much convincing to watch it. After all, I don't think I've actually reviewed a Tim Burton film until now.


This 1999 film, based on The Legend Of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving, has a solid story, with a relatively consistent pace, and is supported by the composition of the iconic Danny Elfman.

There is no way you can mistake this as anything other than a Tim Burton creation, especially because of the very Burton-esque filter that is used in just about all his films.


Johnny Depp is arguably the most Burton actor there is, so it comes as no surprise that he fits the mold of this film perfectly. His performance is not world-beating, but it is certainly entertaining. He just feels so appropriate for the role.

Christina Ricci is a other who fits into Burton's world quite nicely. Her performance, at least to me, was better, though I enjoyed both.


Miranda Richardson gives a decent enough performance, but I wouldn't say I was fully invested in her as a character.

Christopher Walken plays a role that feels very unlike him. That said, I thought he did rather well, despite how strange it was to see him in that particular role.


Marc Pickering did well alongside Depp, but unfortunately felt a little overshadowed by some of the bigger names around him in the cast. Despite this, I still thought he did solidly.

Finally, I'll mention Christopher Lee, Ian McDiarmid, Michael Gambon, Richard Griffiths, Jessica Oyelowo, Casper Van Diem, Lisa Marie and Jeffrey Jones, whom each gave something of value in their supporting roles, particularly Lee and Jones.


Overall, this is a really solid murder mystery that is sure to appease most Burton fans, as well as fans of the murder mystery genre as a whole.


Comments


bottom of page