top of page

Saw 2 (2005) Dir: Darren Lynn Bousman

Instagram post:

Directed by Darren Lynn Bousman, this sequel to the iconic original is even more gross, twisted and violent than its predecessor. Later entries aside, I think there were so many good things about these earlier films.


I really enjoyed the two main arcs of the story, and how they intertwined throughout the film. The traps were really solid, and among my personal favourites from the franchise. I also really appreciated the way Bousman calls back to the first film.

As you can imagine, the physical effects are all pretty decent, and are certainly good enough to turn some stomachs. It certainly made my feelings about needles clearer.


Tobin Bell returns in a far more significant role than in the first film, and certainly for the better. He was so memorable here, thanks to his usual, sinister monologues and some pretty decent acting beyond that too.

Donnie Wahlberg made for an interesting, if slightly irritating character who lacked sufficient development - although, I understand that is kind of the point. Even so, I would've liked to see a little more from Wahlberg here.


Shawnee Smith returned with a far more substantial role to play, and while she did over-act a tiny bit, which is to be expected in a Saw film, I suppose, she still gave what was, in my view, the film's best performance.

Erik Knudsen grew into the film, although I feel like he could've done even more with marginally better writing. Credit should also go to the ensemble of supporting actors who put in some great work to sell the horror of the film; Glenn Plummer, Franky G, Emmanuelle Vaugier, Beverley Mitchell and Timothy Burd.


Overall, while it doesn't quite reach the heights of the first film, I still really enjoyed this sequel. I think it was inventive, thrilling and, if you can stomach it, a really good, gorey film.


Comentários


bottom of page