top of page

Ready Player One (2011) By Ernest Cline


"Being human totally sucks most of the time. Videogames are the only thing that make life bearable."

I was bought this book several years ago, but for whatever reason, I never got around to actually reading it - a poor habit of my teenage years. My first thought on the book, as I was reading it, was that, perhaps ironically, I would have enjoyed it a lot more had I read it back when I originally received the book.


"People who live in glass houses should shut the fuck up."

The problem I found was that, while I am certain this is a taste issue than an objective one, I found the constant obsession with the Eighties pretty tiresome, very quickly. I understand that the protagonist and his idol have an in-book obsession, but my interest waned within a hundred pages.


"Going outside is highly overrated."

Cline's knowledge of Eighties pop-culture and nerd culture is impressive and extensive. However, the book almost feels like its more concerned with reeling off references and pieces of decade-related trivia than the actual story. It took an age for the story to even properly begin because of this very issue.


"You'd be amazed how much research you can get done when you have no life whatsoever."

It is unfortunate, but I was not altogether fond of the story's main character for the most part. I found them to be, as you often find in young fiction - Harry Potter, for example - a rather irritating persona who seems to know too well that they are the "main character" so-to-speak.


"Whenever I saw the sun, I reminded myself that I was looking at a star. One of over a hundred billion in our galaxy. A galaxy that was just one of billions of other galaxies in the observable universe. This helped me keep things in perspective."

The supporting characters were far more likable than the protagonist, although some of them felt either stereotyped or rather archetypal, which I personally found to be disappointing. That said, I will acknowledge that the variety in those aforementioned characters' identities was very enjoyable.


"You were born at a pretty crappy time in history. And it looks like things are only gonna get worse from here on out."

I did at least enjoy the final third of the book far more entertaining than the prior two thirds, with a significant uptick in stakes and action making the story a lot more palatable. Although, I did notice a whole lot of convenient storytelling that left me skeptical - it felt as though the characters had it far too easy, or were far more talented than the book was leading its readers to believe.


"For a bunch of hairless apes, we've actually managed to invent some pretty incredible things."

That aside, I found the story to be, at times, painfully trope-ridden or, at least, uncreative. In particular, I found this to be the case with what can only be described as a cringe-inducing romance angle. It would have been so much more bearable if the two characters did not feel straight out of a teen television show about two awkward geeks who happen to be a lot more desirable than they could possible have imagined.


"I felt like a kid standing in the world's greatest video arcade without any quarters, unable to do anything but walk around and watch the other kids play."

The disappointing truth of the matter is that the book was simply too easy to put down. It must be said, I do feel harsh in my critique of what is a popular book and subsequent cinematic adaptation. I lament that I did not read this five years ago. I feel my opinion on it would be wholly more positive.


"That was when I realized, as terrifying and painful as reality can be, it’s also the only place where you can find true happiness. Because reality is real."

Comments


bottom of page