top of page

Money Monster (2016) Dir: Jodie Foster

Instagram post:



Full disclosure, I had no intention of watching this Jodie Foster directed crime film, but by chance, I ended up sitting down and watching this ninety-or-so minute thriller. I had low expectations for it, considering its decidedly average reviews, but regardless, once more unto the breach I went.


The visual and auditory experience of the film was rather dull. There were no aspects of either that felt particularly special or positive. The shots used were all fairly standard - not poor, just kind of boring. I didn't feel at all compelled by any of it.


The story felt very simplistic. There were certainly hints at something more poignant - a point to be made - but I felt that the film never really got its teeth into them, beyond a very basic stab at the economic elites. I liked the message of the film, but the execution was mediocre. The film relied heavily on its cast to carry the importance of the film.


George Clooney provided a fairly decent lead performance, although I wouldn't say he provided anything special or new. It felt like a standard Clooney character; charismatic, self-important and arrogant - something the man does well, but doesn't exactly give me something to care about.


Julia Roberts lacked much character or individuality, which was more to do with her character's writing in fairness - although, she definitely could have put more into the role. She failed to interest me even once.


Jack O'Connell had some scenes in which he blew away the far larger names around him, but the writing of his character dragged his performance down so often that he became almost too much. It was a shame to see, because the emotions he carried had some real quality in depth to them.


Smaller supporting roles from Giancarlo Esposito, Dominic West, Caitríona Balfe and Christopher Denham were adequate, but failed to rouse any significant emotion from me as an audience member. They merely felt like they were taking part, rather than excelling in any way.


Overall, although this had some solid surface level emotions to it, I felt that it was all rather shallow. For a ninety-minute film, it was fine, but I can't say I'll ever feel the need to revisit this one. I imagine I'll forget all about this one soon enough.



Comentários


bottom of page