top of page

Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol (2011) Dir: Brad Bird

Updated: Dec 11, 2023

Instagram post:

From what I have heard and seen, this hugely popular franchise really picked up from this film onwards - so it is safe to say, I had high expectations coming into this fourth installment. This was also the film I'd seen the most clips from, so I already knew there would be plenty of good scenes.


This Brad Bird directed feature continued to develop the style and identity of the franchise, with more epic stunts, more thrilling action and more insane stakes. I love how absurd these films are. This one in particular seemed to tow the line between serious and self-aware very nicely indeed.


The story reminded me a little of the very first film, but, of course, on a far larger and more significant stage. I kind of loved how over-the-top it all was. It was thrilling, intense and explosive action from start to finish.


Tom Cruise took his mind-boggling stunts to the next level in this one, and seemingly had the aim of performing the riskiest stunt he could. His raved about stunt-work aside, his acting was fairly decent here, although not at the levels of the prior film.


Paula Patton proved to be a very strong addition to the cast, in my view. I think she felt important, skillful and dangerous - exactly what you want from a spy. I also like the extra depth the story gave her character, which made her even more interesting.


Simon Pegg returns to the franchise with a far bigger role, and certainly to the film's advantage. I find Pegg very funny as an actor, and his performance here proved equally entertaining. He's so good at the off-the-cuff comedy that lightens the mood and makes sure the film isn't taking itself too seriously.


Jeremy Renner was another new face to the franchise, and while it took him a little time to settle it seemed, once the film got into its third act, he came alive. I ended up thoroughly enjoying him by the end of the film.


Michael Nyqvist gave a decent enough performance as the film's antagonist, but I still found his character a little disappointing. He was too easy to forget about, and I would say he was the only real weakness of the film - not by any fault of Nyqvist.


Quick mentions go the direction of Léa Seydoux, Vladimir Mashkov, Ivan Shvedoff, Samuli Edelmann and Anil Kapoor, for their enjoyable supporting performance.


Overall, I would call this the most enjoyable entry in the franchise thus far, although its very close between this and the third film as it pertains to which is better. Either way, I really enjoyed this film, and can't wait to watch the next few.


Comments


bottom of page