top of page

Loki (2021) Dir: Kate Herron

Instagram Post:


This was another of the new wave of Marvel Cinematic Universe's limited series to arrive on Disney Plus last year, and was arguably the one I was most excited for.


And seeing as I've reviewed the others already, and I had watched this one not that long ago as well, I figured why not this one too?


Now, much like the other recently produced series, this one has its ups and downs. The narrative is not the strongest, though it does get where it needs to be in the end and provides a number of really entertaining moments along the way.


I think the protagonists here are the most likeable of the new MCU series by far, which helped keep viewing interest for me personally.


Natalie Holt, who did the music for the series, creates a fantastic soundtrack, especially the opening titles and credits. This, mixed with the general aesthetic of the series, makes for a very groovy vibe.


Tom Hiddleston's charisma oozes throughout this series, his natural charm and mischievous smiles continuing to bring to life one of the MCU's most loved characters.


Owen Wilson gives my personal favourite performance here, showing both the serious and comedic sides of his acting credentials.


Sophia Di Martino is also quite enjoyable here, though she struggles to match up to her counterpart in Hiddleston, which is not easy in fairness.


Gugu Mbatha-Raw has her moments, but feels a bit weak at points, which is not entirely her fault admittedly. I also want to mention Richard E. Grant, because I think his appearance and character in the series was great.


Overall, I think director and producer Kate Herron did a pretty fine job creating a fun yet relevant story for the MCU - her series reflects that typical Marvel style which, at times, is tired and typical, but still has its moments for fans to enjoy.


This series wasn't as strong as some of the films, perhaps inevitably, but it is still very fun and leaves me looking forward to the follow up season.

Comments


bottom of page