top of page

La La Land (2016) Dir: Damien Chazelle

Instagram post:



Damien Chazelle's love letter to jazz and classic Hollywood is, of course, one of the most praised and popular films of the last decade - and yet, I had not watched before now. I do not dislike musicals, but they are rarely my first choice, which is a big reason why I had missed it to this point.


I didn't like the opening musical number, however I enjoyed the rest of the music and dance choreography a lot. There was a flow to the film that was very satisfying, from the soundtrack to the very movements of the characters. I also must say that the clear jazz influence and appreciation was absolutely marvellous.


The film's colour palette was stunning. I loved the wide array of colours, as well as how the set design, costume design and cinematography all complimented each other quite beautifully. The cohesion was really something to behold. It helped build this aura of nostalgia that was rather wonderful.


The use of purple is, of course, one of the most memorable features of the film's visuals, but I also really enjoyed that the film was full of references and homages to to classic Hollywood, from particular shots, lighting choice and set dressing.


The story was a very emotional journey of love, dreams and 'what if's?'. There was a beautiful emotional core than ran through it, carried by two excellent leads, and complimented very nicely by the emotive and nostalgic soundtrack. I was drawn in by the romance of the story, and found it a real treat to watch.


Ryan Gosling has a way of showing a lot, while seemingly hardly acting at all. His dry delivery and subtle emotions often go under the radar, but I think, as is the case in this performance, he is often able to show a superb level of emotional vulnerability and range. Furthermore, his on-screen chemistry with Emma Stone was truly wonderful.


Emma Stone gave an absolutely stellar performance, full of her usual charisma and comedic timing, as well as some magnificent displays of emotion. I was totally enamoured with her from start to finish. Her dancing too was really solid, and, as mentioned, her chemistry with Gosling was lovely.


In regards to the supporting cast, the most notable performance was provided by musician John Legend, who I quite enjoyed. There were also some decent, but very brief, supporting performances from the likes of Rosemarie DeWitt, J.K. Simmons, Callie Hernandez and Jessica Rothe.


Overall, I don't think I quite expected to adore this film as much as I did. Part of me figured that, maybe, this would be a little overhyped. But I am very happy to be wrong, on this occasion. It's a wonderful film, that contains a heartwarming, beautiful, and yet heartbreaking story that had me extremely emotionally invested.



Kommentare


bottom of page