top of page

How To Marry A Millionaire (1953) Dir: Jean Negulesco

Instagram post:


So this film is far older than the vast majority of films I review, but after watching it, I thought it would be worthwhile writing about. The film is a classic romantic comedy featuring the iconic Marilyn Monroe.


The narrative is fun, entertaining and just the right amount of silly. The fashion and visual aesthetics, which are very much of the time, are highly satisfying and appealing.


Miss Monroe stars and brings a ditsy, comedic performance to her character.


Also starring are Lauren Bacall and Betty Grable, each bringing their own blend of personality and humour ti their respective roles, particularly Bacall.


David Wayne does well to keep up with the film's stars in his supporting role, I found he grew on me as the story progressed.


Cameron Mitchell and Rory Calhoun were both entertaining in their supporting roles, though they weren't as notable as Wayne.


I really enjoyed the performance of William Powell, who encapsulated his character's poise and grace very well.


Finally, Fred Clark has his moments, but isn't an overly large presence in the film.


Overall, watching this has made me want to start watching way more films from the 50s and 60s. There are so many I've missed.

Comments


bottom of page