top of page

Godzilla (2014) Dir: Gareth Edwards

Instagram post:


As regulars to FilmIsRidley will know, I have recently been exploring and enjoying the 'monster' film genre. After watching Kong: Skull Island (2017), I figured I may as well try and watch all the films in that monsterverse.


The aforementioned Kong film isn't the first in this new franchise, it is in fact the second. This Gareth Edwards film from 2014 is the first. I am personally far less familiar with Godzilla, though I do know of him and his popularity. I was quite eager to see him in action.


What We got with this film was better than I had honestly expected. I thought this would be your run of the mill, virtually storyless monster brawl. But in actuality, the film had way more story than I anticipated.


The narrative manages to construct a functional and reasonably effective main arc, whilst also remembering what it's audience came to see; action and carnage on an enormous scale.


The action scenes are epic, however, I wish there had been more screentime allocated for them, especially when Godzilla himself turns up and reeks havoc. The scale of the monsters here is shown very well, with their sheer size being unmistakable.


The soundtrack raises the film's intensity with its volume and dramatic nature, although it must be said it almost drowns out the action here and there.


Aaron Taylor-Johnson stars here and gives a pretty commendable performance, considering his 'co-star' is the iconic King of the Monsters. For the most part, I really rayed him in this role.


Elizabeth Olsen also features here, and her emotional range is genuinely Ely very impressive. I would say hers is the best performance here.


Another good performance came from a sentimental favourite of mine; Bryan Cranston. Fresh off of his incredible run in Breaking Bad, he manages to display some of the immense acting talent he had shown there in this. I wish he'd had a bit more screentime though.


Ken Watanabe and Sally Hawkins also give performances worthy of note, both in slightly more minor supporting roles.


Overall, this was another fun and monumental sci-fi spectacle. I am very keen to continue watching through this modern monsterverse, with what I hope to be even more ambitious and destructive action scenes.

Comentarios


bottom of page