top of page

Enola Holmes (2020) Dir: Harry Bradbeer

Instagram post:


This Harry Bradbeer directed film is one I've heard mixed things about. It's a Netflix original that takes a fresh look at the world of Sherlock Holmes, from a new perspective.


The narrative has its highs and lows. It flows well enough, but by the end, the story has solved itself, rather than being solved by Enola.


Speaking of Enola, Millie Bobby Brown stars as the young investigator, and shows a far more colourful side of her acting than what she typically brings to her broodier, quieter role in Stranger Things.


I quite enjoyed her performance for the most part, though there were a couple of fourth wall breaks that were a little annoying.


Louis Partdridge has a decent showing in a supporting role, though I would've liked to see a little more versatility here.


Henry Cavill's natural charisma and screen presence comes to the fore and allows him to present a powerful and intelligent persona with ease. That said, he didn't give anything new as far as his acting ability and variety goes.


Sam Claflin is quite enjoyable as his semi-antagonistic character, though I wish he'd had more screen time.


Finally, I'll mention the British icon that is Helena Bonham Carter, who always gives an enjoyable performance in whatever role she has.


Overall, I think this one was better than I expected, though it's not one I think I'll need to watch again any time soo.


That said, I do plan to watch the sequel, which is due to be released later this year.

Comments


bottom of page