top of page

Encanto (2021) Dir: Byron Howard & Jared Bush

Instagram post:


So, in the time it has taken for me to watch this film, it has been nominated for multiple awards, including Best Animated Feature and Best Original Song for the Acadmey Awards (Oscars).


Now, did this at least subconsciously hover over this film's head while I watched it? Perhaps, it's hard to say.


What I can say for sure though is that it left a bit of a mixed impression on me. The songs were pretty good, but by no means special - especially in comparison to those of prior films like Moana or Tangled, for example.


The story is fun and engaging, but again, doesn't quite match up to some of the other Disney films of the last decade at least. It's not bad at all mind you, it just is not as memorable and left nowhere near as much of an impression on me personally.


My one main issue with this film is that there are just too many characters to really allow anyone but the protagonist any real space to shine or stand out as much as they could.


As ever, the animation style was incredible. I cannot complement it enough - particularly the attention to detail for hair and clothing. It is absolutely exemplary.


Stephanie Beatriz of Brooklyn Nine-Nine fame stars here, lending her voice acting ability to this well. Supporting her is an interesting cast, including the likes of Jessica Darrow, Diane Guerrero, María Cecilia Botero and John Leguizamo.


They all give adequate performances - but due to the aforementioned abundance of characters, they pretty much all fail to stand out. I also want to mention Alan Tudyk, who seems to be making a good little niche for himself as an animal voice actor.


Overall, I did really enjoy this one, but like I said, it fails to live up to prior Disney efforts.

Comentarios


bottom of page