top of page

Don't Look Up (2021) Dir: Adam Mckay

Instagram Post:


For me, this one felt like 2012 (2009) and Skyscraper (2018) had a baby and added a weirdly star-studded cast. I did not really know what to expect from this film but what it turned out to be was quite truly bizarre.


That's not to say it's bad, far from it, I quite enjoyed it in fact. But it was such an odd experience to watch. The narrative was kind of weird; it definitely has a lot of good moments, but there's definitely some other bits that felt as though they were only done for laughs or to add the bizarre factor.


As far as acting goes, the fact that this film is headlined by Leonardo DiCaprio is perhaps the most strange thing about this one. It really is not something I'd expect DiCaprio to do. That said, he seemed to throw himself head first into the role, as he usually does, and I found myself really enjoying his character.


He stars alongside Jennifer Lawrence, who sort of plays herself with a few written in quirks to build her character. She was quite fun in this one too in fairness.


Joining these two we have Timothée Chalamet - you know, the guy in literally every film in 2021. That's not a complaint by the way, I rate him as an actor. He seems to have a quite diverse acting skillset.


Adding to the star power is the iconic Meryl Streep, who, thanks to her chemistry with Jonah Hill, makes for a very entertaining character. Hill is also fun, though feels like he's just being him.


Rob Morgan acts as support for DiCaprio and Lawrence, and has some nice little moments, though he doesn't come close to outshining his co-stars.


Cate Blanchett continues to show why she is a great actress in her own right, while Ariana Grande makes an odd and kind of unnecessary cameo amongst the cinematic chaos. Chris Evans and Ron Perlman also make appearances in minor roles, both were entertaining.


Overall, this really was an odd one, but I cannot deny that I really enjoyed watching it, even of I spent most of it slightly bewildered by what was unfolding in front of me.

Comentarios


bottom of page