top of page

Dead Poets Society (1989) Dir: Peter Weir

Instagram post:

When people compile lists of films to watch when you want to feel something, I often see this one come up, and there is good reason for that. The story is heartwarming, funny and at times heartbreakingly sad.


I found it to have a rather fundamental impact on me, in that, it inspired me to write more and to express positive emotion in that writing more. But I don't think it'll be only writers who find this film meaningful, I think it will leave a mark on any who venture to watch it.

Robin Williams stars in one of his best ever performances - I truly believe he was the perfect casting choice here. He has that caring, fatherly presence about him, and his very real life struggles in life have lead to many of his lines in this becoming both iconic and heartbreaking.


Ethan Hawke also has a substantial role here, in what was just his second feature film appearance, and provides a decent account of his acting abilities, with flashes of the talent he would show later in his career.

Robert Sean Leonard is another who gives a good performance, and probably the second best of the students in the film.


The only one who I thought was better was Josh Charles, who's character and performance is just brilliant. I also really enjoyed the performance of Gale Hanson, who has some very well acted scenes throughout.

Finally, I'll give a brief mention to Norman Lloyd, who may have had substantially less minutes than his colleagues, but still provided some solidly acted scenes.


Overall, it is so easy to see why this film is so loved. Director Peter Weir's expression of creativity, self-expression and learning comes across beautifully in what is a truly classic latest 80s teen drama.


Comments


bottom of page