top of page

Castlevania: Season 4 (2021) Dir: Sam Deats, Adam Deats & Spencer Wan

This final season had a lot of decent narratives to follow, and I think slightly struggled as a result. It's still enjoyable, don't misconstrue what I'm saying, but in comparison to the prior seasons, it is just that much weaker overall.


Similarly to the third season, the subplots are arguably more enthralling than the main story arc in my view. The animation was good for the most part, though a couple of the action scenes were a little juddery.


The opening and closing credit themes have been one of the best suited to a series that I've come across in some time. They were broody, suspenseful pieces that encapsulated the aesthetic of the series brilliantly.


As far as the voice acting goes, Richard Armitage continued his solid performances as Belmont, with Alejandro Reynoso's lighter nature as Sypha allowing for a pleasant contrast between the two characters.


James Callis managed to show his character's developments well, he felt like much more of an individual character this series.


Theo James and Jessica Brown Findlay have one of the more interesting arcs of the whole series, and I really enjoyed both their characters and performances.


Bill Nighy returns to the series, his character kind of feels like a means to an end for the narrative more than anything, but I recognise that this isn't exactly his fault.


I wish Jaime Murray's character had a little more screentime, but I guess, with the series limited to just ten episodes, they had to make sure the narrative got where it needed to be.


Malcolm McDowell was a new addition to the series, I'm not really sure how I feel about his character. His voice performance was fine, but I just wasn't utterly convinced by his character.


The 'MVP' of the series has to be Adetokumboh M'Cormack for me though. His character, Isaac, has a fascinating development - and M'Cormack's performance only helps bring all this to its impactful fruition.


Overall, this has been a pretty fun series with some cool characters and moments. This final season may be a little weaker than the others, but it's still pretty enthralling and delivers a decent end to each character's stories.


I'm sad to see the series end, though I think any more may have been too much. I sincerely hope you give this a go, it's very easy to get through.

Kommentarer


bottom of page