top of page

Blade: Trinity (2004) Dir: David S. Goyer

Instagram post:



Having enjoyed the previous two films to a reasonable degree, I was looking forward to finishing this Marvel trilogy. Despite this, I kept my expectations low - I was aware that reviews for David S. Goyer's sequel weren't exactly positive. But, with a reboot of the franchise in the works, now was as good a time as any to get through it.


Similarly to the prior films in the trilogy, I thought that the soundtrack was great, and provided some pretty metal backing music to the fighting. Speaking of which, the action sequences were still cool, though perhaps not as good as some of the fight sequences in the first two films.


The writing was pretty mediocre, but I have to admit, I laughed several times while watching the film. Some of the jokes and quips were genuinely funny, but a lot of it was just the film being a bit ridiculous. I can't pretend like the film had a good narrative, but it was entertaining, be it purposefully or not.


The acting was borderline diabolical, at times, including what has to be one of the worst depictions of 'Dracula' that I've ever seen in a film; it was truly awful. Most of the characters, 'Dracula' included, lacked much, if any, depth or personality.


As much as I've enjoyed Wesley Snipes in his previous renditions of the character, I just couldn't take him seriously at all, this time. It felt like he was doing a parody of himself in the last two films; it was kind of bizarre. Some of his one-liners were good, but the rest were just odd.


I thought that Jessica Biel was fine enough, but her character had basically no personality. I will say, the writing did her no favours at all. I enjoyed her action scenes, but they got a little repetitive by the time the film got to its climax.


Ryan Reynolds felt like a very early version of his Deadpool persona here - it was kind of weird, but it worked. He was easily the most entertaining person in the film. He did kind of take away from the serious scenes with his constant remarks, but when they worked, they worked.


Dominic Purcell was such a disappointing villain, both in terms of his performance and in terms of his character. It felt like such a waste of the most iconic vampire character ever produced. Purcell lacked screen presence, charisma or even a shred of believability - it was a real shame.


I'll also give very quick mentions to the likes of Kris Kristofferson, Parker Posey, Natasha Lyonne, James Remar, Patton Oswalt and Paul 'Triple H' Lévesque, for their amusing, though pretty poor, supporting performances.


Overall, this one wasn't it. It was funny, but only partly because it intended to be. The rest of the time it was because the film was so painfully poor. I don't regret watching it though, even though it wasn't great, because some of it was so bad it was good.



Comentários


bottom of page