top of page

Billy Elliot (2000) Dir: Stephen Daldry

Instagram post:

I would say this is easily one of the best coming of age British social realism films I've seen in quite some time. Director Stephen Daldry crafts a wonderfully human story of pursuing your dreams and talents, inspite of all the odds. The dance choreography was superb and the protagonist's commitment to the role is particularly impressive.


Speaking of whom, a young Jamie Bell is the star of the film and, I my opinion, absolutely owns this film. His performance, especially for such a young age, is magnificent. You truly believe he's conflicted by his wants and what is expected of him.

Julie Walters, who many will know from Harry Potter, also has a sizeable role here, and shows her acting pedigree and elegance in droves. I loved her character in all honesty.


Gary Lewis adapts and evolves wonderfully throughout this story, giving one of the film's best performances. The way he commits to the role allows his character's development to really have the required impact on the story, as well as the audience.

Finally, I'll also mention Jamie Draven, who had less screentime, but still exhibited some great versatility for his role.


Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this musical drama - I love the juxtaposition of character's desire and the adverse setting he resides in. It works so well.


Comments


bottom of page