top of page

At Eternity's Gate (2018) Dir: Julian Schnabel

Instagram post:



This psychological fiction, based upon the final years of one of history's greatest ever artists; Vincent Van Gogh, has been on my watchlist for so long. Julian Schnabel's film looked fascinating, and I couldn't wait to explore what looked to be a peculiar and emotive story.


It was certainly an intriguing film. It was one that inspired contemplation and mental postulating. It was somewhat mesmerising, intensely reflective and altogether philosophical in nature. It was a peculiar, yet absorbing character study.


I did find it to lack focus at times, be that by decision or not, which left the film feeling quite disjointed - sometimes this worked, and sometimes it did not. The stripped back, raw cinematography had a similar effect. Some of it was quietly breathtaking, whilst other aspects gave the film the impression of trying too hard.


I thought the film had a beautiful classical soundtrack, which helped create the cloudy, tentative and sombre emotions in the film. Everything about the film felt simplified, disrobed even. In many respects, the film felt like a really well cast and magnificently performed student film.


Willem Dafoe was, unsurprisingly, immense. His talent for curating the most intriguing, odd and memorable characters can never be understated. I don't think this was his best performance by any means, but it was a very good one nonetheless. He was fascinating to watch.


Of the supporting cast, there were some very compelling performances from Rupert Friend, Oscar Isaac and Mads Mikkelsen. I also think credit is warranted for the performances of Mathieu Amalric and Emmanuelle Seigner. None of these roles were particularly large, but each actor left a positive impression on me.


Overall, I found this to be a captivating portrayal of one of the most influential creative minds ever. The film lost its way at times, but the overarching story and emotions it was showing, as well as the thoughts and questions it provoked, were very engaging. I liked it, I wouldn't quite say I loved it. It intrigued me, and I enjoyed it, but it did not blow me away.



Comments


bottom of page