top of page

American Murder: The Family Next Door (2020) Dir: Jenny Popplewell

Letterboxd post:


This was one of the hardest watches I've had to go through since diving into the world of true crime. The events that took place are truly harrowing - it was genuinely upsetting to watch. The film was well made and well presented. It did a very good job of emphasising the horrors of the case and keeping the timeline and flow of the documentary consistent. The film also does a good job of giving the most shocking and devasting pieces of footage the focus and attention they need to really hammer home how awful Chris Watts is. The only issue I have with this film is almost a nitpick I'm aware, but I found the way they show the text messages by typing them out and having typos and mistakes is a bit irritating. But that's really my only annoyance.  Overall, this is one of the best true crime documentaries I've seen so far, but also one of the most upsetting, which I guess is the point.

Comentários


bottom of page