top of page

All Of Us Strangers (2023) Dir: Andrew Haigh

Instagram post:



This Andrew Haigh directed romantic drama was one of the few remaining 2023 releases that I was desperate to see. I had, unfortunately, missed the theatrical run, but once it arrived on streaming services, I couldn't wait to see it at last. I had read so many good things about it, and that, of course, is usually a good sign.


The themes featured in the film, and the way in which they were addressed, were devastating. Love, grief, closure and family were all just some of the themes that the film wonderfully explored, thanks to some delicate and intimate writing. One of the themes I expected the least, but appreciated the most, was death, and how it affects us. It was devastating, but brutal.


The cinematography, though relatively understated, for the most part, was really satisfying to look at. The framing, the colour palette, even the costume design - simple though it was, all came together to produce a quietly gorgeous film. Some of the shot choices were pretty exquisite.


The story was cathartic, heartbreaking and deeply riveting. I was very invested, in both the characters and the narrative itself. The emotional arcs that ran through the film were utterly magnificent. I enjoyed the gentle yet direct way in which the narrative displayed and explored the themes mentioned before. It made for some very powerful scenes.


Andrew Scott once more proved himself to be one of the most underrated actors going today, with another of his brilliant performances. He portrayed some very complex and difficult emotions remarkably well. His chemistry with both Paul Mescal and Jamie Bell was really pleasant to watch, particularly in the more intimate scenes with Mescal, which were beautiful.


Paul Mescal made for a superb supporting actor. I was thoroughly impressed with the quiet vulnerability that he was able to display throughout his performance, and the chemistry he had with Scott, which was truly wonderful.


Jamie Bell and Claire Foy both provided really solid and emotive performances, particularly Bell, who I felt managed to show some really good range in a relatively small role - especially when interacting with Scott.


Overall, I thought this was a beautifully constructed film, which tugged at so many of my heartstrings. It impressed me greatly with the performances of its cast, and the way it presented the devastating emotional arcs it featured. Haigh's poignant romance was definitely worth the wait, for me - and I will definitely be revisiting it soon.



Comments


bottom of page