top of page

Alien 3 (1992) Dir: David Fincher

Instagram post:



From what I've seen and heard, this is considered to be one of the poorer films in the franchise. However, I really don't see that.


Now, it was always going to be incredibly difficult to even match the prior two films, but I think director David Fincher did a decent job of creating a new story with distinct links thematically to its predecessors, especially the first one.



I would still say those other two are better, but I did genuinely enjoy this one a lot all the same. The story works and while the dupporting cast may not be the strongest, Ellen Ripley more than makes up for it.


She is consistently one of the most badass and strong female protagonists in cinema history. The twist, while unexpected, was not terrible - though it was a bit questionable as to whether or not it was necessary.



Sigourney Weaver returns as the face of the franchise and gives the best performance of anyone, though that isn't a surprise. I would say she still had some good character development here, and the delivery of this was definitely improved thanks to her acting.


Charles Dance was good in his supporting role, although I actually wish he had more screentime if I'm being honest - I found his character very intriguing and it felt as though there was more to explore than what we got.



Charles S. Dutton was another supporting actor who gave a good account of himself. He is the best of the rest after Weaver in my view.


Danny Webb has a bit of inconsistency with his performance, but overall managed to do alright.



Finally, I'll mention some actors who had relatively small roles for the most part, but still did enough to warrant a mention; Lance Henrikson, Paul McGann, Brian Glover, Ralph Brown and Tom Woodruff Jr, who played the Xenomorph - although that was also presented with a puppet alternative.


Overall, I think a lot of people need to either give this one a chance or rewatch it because it is so much better than its critical and fan reception. I went in with low expectations and ended up seeing a pretty decent sci-fi horror.



Opmerkingen


bottom of page